Motivational Speaking.

I tend to raise a very skeptical eyebrow when I hear or read about people wanting to “change the world” — I am, even when I try to be otherwise, a cynic, no matter how much Conan O’Brien doesn’t want me to be.  That said, I really hope Jamie Oliver is able to do what I raise my eyebrow at.

Regardless of what you think about so-called celebrity chefs or television chefs, there’s no denying that Mr. Oliver is an incredibly passionate guy.  TED, the nonprofit dedicated to what the organization calls “Ideas Worth Spreading,” awarded their $100,00 prize to the fully-clothed chef; at a TED conference, winners of the award disclose their “one wish to change the world,” which the prize money helps turn from abstract idea into palpable reality.

Here’s Mr. Oliver’s wish:

I wish for everyone to help create a strong, sustainable movement to educate every child about food, inspire families to cook again and empower people everywhere to fight obesity.

Pretty straightforward.

Check it out, and sign Mr. Oliver’s petition to change the way we Americans relate to our food.

One thought on “Motivational Speaking.

Leave a Reply

