Five Things About Me: 26 27 28 29 30.

26. I’m pretty good with bugs, but bees terrify me because I’ve never been stung.  Not only that, but when I get bitten by a mosquito I swell up like nobody’s business — can you imagine what would happen if a bee or a yellow jacket got at me?  Yikes yikes yikes.

27. My parents never let me have long hair as a child; they always thought my thick, curly hair was too unruly so I was practically shorn like a sheep until junior high.  As a result, I was mistaken for a boy more often than I’d like to admit.  I think this is why I have image issues, don’t know how to do anything to my hair aside from stick it in a ponytail and wear lots of eye makeup.

28. I really like dancing.  Really.  I might not be very good at it, but there are few things in life that are more fun.

29. It’s not cool to say so, but I love baloney.  And American cheese.  I know neither of these are “real” foods, in terms of chemical-to-natural ratio, but there you go.

30a.  When I was growing up, one of my aunts (or maybe she was my mother’s cousin) used to work at Marvel Comics; every few months or so she would send a huge package of new releases to my house.  I’ve got back issues of pretty much each 1980s Spider-Man title (The Amazing Spider-Man, The Spectacular Spider-Man and Web Of Spider-Man), as well as every X-thing or X-related thing you can think of (X-Men, Excalibur, X-Factor, X-Force, The New Mutants, The New Warriors, Generation X, Wolverine, etc.).  I’ve also got a spectacular collection of G.I. Joe, Care Bears, Barbie, Muppet Babies, Howard the Duck and Transformers comics.  My aunt showed no discrimination in her mailings.  To this day, I’m a relatively serious comic-book reader.  And yes, they are called comic books.  Graphic novels are something else entirely.

30b. One of my pet peeves is people who call all comic books graphic novels.

30c. I like graphic novels too.

Leave a Reply

