Taking Off.

I’m sitting in my steaming hot dining room, contemplating the pile of dirty dishes from yesterday’s charcuterie fest (more about that later) in the sink, and avoiding packing.  We leave tomorrow for a week in Belgium, followed by a week in Holland, and I don’t know why I’m putting off packing, since I’m so efficient at it.  I think it’s because it’s too hot to move and I still have to turn the two cups of blueberries we haven’t eaten into muffins (or scones) that I’ll stick in the freezer and consume when we get back, and the thought of turning on the oven makes me want to cry.  Or crawl into the freezer with my muffins.  Or both.  I am that hot.

Yesterday my cousin Nikita came over to teach me and Melissa how to make charcuterie, and now my fridge is full of three different kinds, all of which must be eaten or given away before noon tomorrow.  I never thought I’d say this, but I don’t think I’m up for the task.  There’s that much food.  I’ll put up recipes on how to make duck liver pâté, rillettes and pâté de campagne when I get back, but here are is a picture to tide your interest in the meantime:

Charcuterie Saturday, 1
It’s called a tease for a reason, my friends…

I may have Internet access while in Europe, I may not, so just in case:  au revoir, à bientôt.

Leave a Reply

