CSA 2009, Week One.

CSA 1This year’s CSA started the same as last year’s: with a small box of vegetables.  The better to ease us into the practically-overwhelming bounty the upcoming weeks have in store for us, you see.  In a few weeks, I’ll be challenged to use up pounds and pounds of produce in a short period of time, but this week’s box held the perfect introductory amount of the following:

  • Bok choy
  • Hakurei turnips
  • Spinach
  • Radishes

spinachI was the most concerned about turning the spinach (in the plastic bag beneath the radishes) into something Keith and I could have for dinner.  I’m a big spinach lover, opening my arms wide for it in all forms, but Keith easily tires of anything aside from baby leaves in a salad.  Since Keith has liked every dish of my mother’s, I gave her a call to get her spinach recipe.  It’s a combination of ground beef, onions, sweet tomatoes and spinach — though I threw in my turnip greens too, so as not to let them go to waste.  My mother has made this dish with fresh tomatoes as well, but I have to say I prefer it with canned, unless you’re fortunate enough to fall into a bounty of really sweet tomatoes.  It makes all the difference.

My Mother’s Spinach
Makes four portions

2 tablespoons olive oil
one pound ground beef (ground turkey would work too)
1 large onion, finely chopped
1 28 ounce can of whole tomatoes
1 ½ pounds spinach, cleaned with tough stems removed and roughly chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Heat the olive oil in a large non-stick pan over medium-high head.  Add beef; stir to declump.  When beef is completely browned, add onion until it is soft, about eight to ten minutes.  Add tomatoes and mix, breaking tomatoes into pieces.  Stir in salt and pepper to taste before adding the cut up spinach; cook until spinach has wilted.

Leave a Reply

