The Official “Back from Maine” Post.

Cove's EdgeA week ago I was sitting on a swing that overlooked a quiet salt-scented cove; I had a book in my lap and a beer in my hand.  Today I’m sitting on my sofa, listening to the traffic rumbling by; my computer is warming my thighs and I’m drinking a Coke Zero.

What a difference a hundred and seventy miles makes.

Keith and I spent our week in Cushing reading, napping and making paseo to various ridiculously picturesque seaside towns like Belfast, Camden, Rockland, Rockport and Wiscasset — which happens to be home to two of the most perfect shops ever, Smitten and Rock Paper Scissors.  A visit to either is worth the drive north alone.  Unfortunately, neither store has a website, which could be considered good news for my wallet… though I’ve already mentioned to Keith that I might call Smitten and have them send me a few things, like a pair of their wonderful contoured-to-the-palm mugs.

While we had two fantastic meals out (at Francine in Camden and Primo in Rockland, more on those in later posts), I spend most of the vacation either curled up with a quilt or wrapped in my oversize wool sweater by the water, reading.  I tore through seven and a half books last week, which may be something of a record for me.  I’ll let you know what I read and my thoughts on those books in a bit.  I just wanted to drop you a quick line to say, Hello, I missed you, let’s catch up.

Sound good?

*Photo from Cove’s Edge, where we stayed.  We were too relaxed to take our own pictures.
4 thoughts on “The Official “Back from Maine” Post.

  1. Oh man, you were in my hood. My grandparents used to live in Rockland, so most of my love of Maine stems from that place (and Camden and Rockport). Le sigh.

    • Oh man yourself. Don’t you think we would have the best time tooling around the backroads of Maine? We should make it happen one of these days…

Leave a Reply

