Café Round-Up: Flat Black Coffee Company.

Who: Flat Black Coffee Company
Where: Financial District, Boston
When: Two and a half hours early on a weekday afternoon, beginning at lunchtime.
Ordered: Iced vanilla latte as sweet as pudding for $3.83
Info: Nice big windows on two walls, counters running along the length of them with saddle stools tucked underneath.  Aside from a pair of businesspeople sitting in glossy crimson chairs and having a tête-à-tête over coffee, I am the only other patron so I have my pick of seats and sockets, the latter of which there are an impressive amount.  Surprisingly loud considering how empty it is — samba-ish world music playing at practically full volume whilst employees chatter amongst themselves.  Even with my headphones plugged in and my iTunes on the highest I’ve set it yet, I can hear a steady bass rhythm and the baristas’ conversation over both my typing and The Meadowlands.  Supposedly free Internet, but my laptop doesn’t want to connect.  Most likely I am doing something wrong.
Conclusion: Not for those averse to tribal beats.

Flat Black Coffee Company
50 Broad Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02109
617.951.1440
flatblackcoffeecompany.com

Flat Black Coffee Company on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

