Visiting St Werburghs City Farm.

Near where Judy and Dorian live in Bristol is a neighborhood called St Werburghs; from our friends’ flat, it’s a pleasant walk through through the city allotments (community gardens) to St Werburghs City Farm, a free, independently-run farm focused on education.  Before I go into more detail on the farm, may I just mention how extraordinary the St Werburghs allotments are?  It was an overcast morning the day the four of us treked down a narrow and muddy path to the farm; the light was the sort that makes everything look so very lush, and in every direction over sloping hills all I could see was green from the efforts of the allotment lessees.  It was inspiring.

Back to the farm…

If you thought I was a dawdler in the markets of the world, you should see me on a farm.  Oh, how I get sidetracked by things such as a goat’s rectangular pupils or the posture of a chicken.  I could easily spend several hours with the bunnies alone, not to mention a mama pig whose piglets share a birthday with me.  Luckily, we didn’t have plans until around ten-thirty that evening…

Click on the picture below to see a slideshow of St Werburghs.

city-farm-11

St Werburghs City Farm
Watercress Road
Bristol BS2 9YJ
England
+ 020 0117 942 8241

2 thoughts on “Visiting St Werburghs City Farm.

  1. How lovely to hear St Werburgh’s described thus! The allotments really are a special place – an oasis of green in the inner city. Nearby lies the City Farm and its gorgeous cafe while round a few corners is the Better Food Company, Bristol’s only organic supermarket. Include the self-build housing development, unspoilt pubs, and a strong community…yes, we are indeed blessed.

  2. Here’s a funny story about Better Food: Judy took us past the store, and I saw a sign advertising “yummy hampers.” I was so confused, thinking they were selling fancy laundry baskets until Judy explained otherwise. I was picturing something altogether different.

    I definitely noticed, during my short stay, how very food-friendly Bristol is. It makes me both envious and confused — what can be done to make my city and others more focused on making local produce available to us? I think the solution might be moving to England…

Leave a Reply

