CSA 2008, Week Twenty-Two (AKA The Last Week).

Oh me.  I’m so sad to report that the final week of our maiden voyage on the S.S. CSA went undocumented.  If I were a certain kind of person, I would provide you with an elaborate reason as to why my shutter-finger failed (A car crashed into the house!* My neighbor’s cat snuck in and stole my camera!) but such strange events happen to me so often that I’ve got to say thoxat I’m finding myself really embracing the idea of not having any excuses.  So let’s just jump in…  to the produce:

  • Butternut squash x two
  • Carrots
  • Garlic
  • Kale
  • Kohlrabi
  • Onions
  • Popcorn
  • Potatoes
  • Rutabagas
  • Salad greens
  • Scallions
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Turnips

As I unpacked, I felt the two butternuts staring me down.  These monsters were so intimidating — one was practically as long as my arm.  I knew that I wanted to maximize their flavor, which of course meant it would be into the oven with them.  What I didn’t want to end up with, though, was just cubes of roasted vegetables, so I decided I would turn as much of my box’s contents into stock.

Recently, I had read a great post over at VeganYumYum that detailed not only the perfect way to make stock, but had some fantastic accompanying pictures.  I really loved Lolo‘s carefree exuberance with ingredients, so I pretty much threw my entire vegetable bin into the stock pot.  I was particularly happy to boil the kohlrabi down into stock, as well as the sweet potato.  In the end, I found myself with eight and a half cups of vegetable stock, which I strained and froze in two-cup quantities.  Later, I pureéd four cups of stock, half of the kale and half of the salad greens with my roasted  squash, until I had a soup with a nice thick consistency that would pair perfectly with a crusty baguette.

Vegetable Broth, from Vegan Yum Yum
Makes about ten cups of broth

“Minimalist” Broth
2-3 tablespoons olive oil
1-2 large onions, chopped
1 pound celery, chopped (I had some celeriac, which I used instead)
1 pound carrots, washed but unpeeled, chopped
3 whole cloves garlic
1 bay leaf
10 whole black peppercorns
2 teaspoon salt
¼ cup low sodium Tamari
1 gallon water

(I also used my kohlrabi, my sweet potatoes, my scallions, some of the turnips, and half of the kale.  Lolo suggests tossing in whatever vegetable leftovers you may have in your fridge.)

  1. Place a large stock pot with some olive oil in the bottom over medium heat.  Add all chopped vegetables and stir occassionally for ten to fifteen minutes, or until all are softened.  Pour in water, peppercorns and bay leaf; increase the heat to high and cover.  Cook for 1 hour, decreasing the heat slightly once the whole the liquid begins to bubble.   Finish by adding tamari to taste; let the stock simmer uncovered for another 20 to 30 minutes to concetrate the flavors.
  2. Strain the vegetables out into a large pot or bowl.  Strain out additional solids through a cheesecloth.  Pour into ice cube trays, freezer bags or similar for storage.  The broth will keep for up to one week refrigerated, and up to two months in the freezer.

* Surprisingly, this actually happened.  It was about a year ago, a few houses down.

Leave a Reply

