Cupcake from Les Glaceurs.

les-glaceurs First of all, I couldn’t help myself with this photo.  Doesn’t it seem kind of like Baby’s Day Out, but the cupcake version?  A cupcake’s big adventure in the the big city — I would absolutely line up to see that movie.

Down to business…

Ever since I was young, I’ve had a soft spot for Old Montréal.  Sure, it’s overtrodden by tourists and souvenir shops, but the neighborhood’s charming architecture and ambiance far outweighs the kitsch.  Another pro in its favor is the presence of Les Glaceurs, a café/bakery peddling cupcakes, cookies and macarons.

Because I’ve got no willpower whatsoever when it comes to chocolate, I all but pounced on the chocolate-menthe cupcakes ($2.85 CAD each).  The cake portion of the cupcake was made of a dark chocolate that stood firmly on the dividing line between sweet and bitter; the pastel pouf of frosting decorating the top of the mini-dessert had a flavor I can only describe as icy, with its burst of refreshing mintiness.

My only wish is that Les Glaceurs offered a sampler pack; how great would that be, to help yourself to a taste of each little treat?  Then again, how dangerous…

Les Glaceurs
453, rue Saint-Sulpice
Montréal, QC H2Y
Canada
514.504.1469
lesglaceurs.ca

Les Glaceurs on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Cupcake from Les Glaceurs.

  1. I found your blog on The Foodie Blogroll. I was just tagged for a meme and decided it would be fun to tag six random food bloggers. The deal is either to write six random facts about yourself, or, as I interpreted it, six random food-related facts.

    Here is the link to my post. Please leave me a comment if you do the meme! If you don’t, it’s no big deal of course!

    http://cuisinequotidienne.blogspot.com/2008/11/six-random-food-related-facts-about-me.html

  2. I have to admit, Old Montreal is a beautiful, quaint and inspiring place to visit. Old cobble stone streets, surrounded by historic buildings hundreds of years old. All the lavishly decorated shops side by side. An expensive but most desirable place to live. Les Glaceurs is a shop I have not yet visited but I plan to very soon. The fact that it incorporates a lounge/cafe feeling is quite unique and a great place to wind down, chat, and enjoy some delicately delicious sweets. Les Glaceurs should be highly recommended to locals and visitors alike. A perfect way to relax after a day of Old Montreal exploration.

Leave a Reply

