An Afternoon at Marché Jean-Talon.

We spent a large portion of Saturday’s late afternoon roaming around Montréal’s outdoor market, Jean-Talon.  Located near Little Italy, it’s unbelievably open all year — even in the city’s frosty winters.  At that point, walls are put up enclosing the hundreds of stalls set up underneath an open-air ceiling.

In all honesty, I am the worst person to visit a market with, especially one like Jean-Talon; I tend to wander off.  I’m too easily distracted by cheesemongers hawking fresh chèvre, the lusty aromas drifting out of boulangeries and the sheer beauty of multicolored cauliflowers backlit by the setting sun.  What fascinates me about markets such as these is more than just what’s for sale, though; I’m interested in the people buying it all.  At Jean-Talon, parents with strollers and tethered dogs walked alongside men and women who looked as though they had been shopping at the market every day for the past forty years.  There were throngs of young people fondling leeks and droves of kids ogling olive oil.  Here, the market is literally a destination for all generations.

Click on the picture for a short slideshow of some of Jean-Talon’s wares.

Marché Jean-Talon
7070 rue Henri-Julien
Montréal, QC H2S 3A3
Canada
514.277.1588
marchespublics-mtl.com

2 thoughts on “An Afternoon at Marché Jean-Talon.

  1. “What fascinates me about markets such as these is more than just what’s for sale, though; I’m interested in the people buying it all.”
    I’m the same way, and I’m also interested in the vendors, their whys, and hows, and their pride in their effort and its result. gorgeous post -you’ve really captured the spirit of the market, I think.

  2. Thanks for the compliment!

    Whenever I visit a market, I always think beyond simply what can be made with the items purchased; I find myself wondering, “Where did this come from? Where is it going?” Food is more than what we do to it — it has a history all its own.

Leave a Reply

