CSA 2008, Week Eighteen.

This week’s box was heavier than most, something that I suppose had to do with the monstrous butternut squash that was included in our haul.  Squash notwithstanding, I’m of the opinion that it was the sheer amount of potatoes weighing me down.  Aside from those two very autumnal items, our CSA box from The Food Project contained the following:

  • Beets
  • Broccoli
  • Cabbage
  • Celeriac
  • Cilantro
  • Eggplant
  • Garlic
  • Jalepeño pepper
  • Kale
  • Lettuce
  • Onions

I don’t know it it was those potatoes rolling around the box’s bottom like an assortment of oversize marbles, but as I scrubbed their uneven surfaces free of dirt the notion to make a potato pizza popped into my head.  I didn’t have a recipe, which I didn’t let dissuade me — normally I’m a bit hesitant to throw something together if I’m cooking for anyone other than myself; I know Keith doesn’t mind a bit of culinary creativity, but for self-esteem purposes I hate serving even him something that I’m not entirely confident in.  The pizza I was envisioning, on the other hand, was a different story.  I’ve always liked Cambridge, 1‘s potato and fontina with its simple and comforting flavors, and so I decided to try to channel my recollection of that pizza (which I haven’t had in years) while I made my own.

A note:  I am consumed with fear when it comes to yeast, so I use premade pizza dough.  I like Whole Food‘s and the dough Formaggio Kitchen stocks in its freezer (whose name, of course, I’ve forgotten, as I’ve already put out the trash to be collected).

Garlicky Potato Pizza
Makes one thin-crust pizza

3 potatoes, washed and peeled
2/3 cup shredded fontina cheese (generous)
2/3 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (generous)
About 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, roughly chopped
About 2 tablespoons fresh sage, roughly chopped
5 cloves garlic, finely minced
1 pizza dough for one pie, whether it’s homemade or store-bought is up to you
Olive oil
Salt and pepper
Red pepper flakes (optional; I didn’t put them on my half but Keith did)

  1. Preheat oven according to pizza dough instructions.  While oven heats, sauté garlic in two to three generous tablespoons of olive oil, sprinkled with salt, until golden brown.  Drizzle almost half of garlic and oil on a baking sheet; spread over entire surface with the back of a spoon.  Roll out pizza dough directly atop garlic and oil, and shape into a rectangle of even thickness.  Drizzle remaining garlic and oil on top.
  2. Slice potatoes as thinly as possible so that you end up with several slim circles (if you have a mandoline this step goes by quickly; otherwise be patient, as it’s easy to slip up and cut yourself if you’re not).  Arrange potato slices across top of pizza, overlapping if necessary.  Sprinkle with both cheeses, herbs and red pepper flakes, if using.  Bake for fifteen to twenty minutes, or until cheese is a rich golden brown.
Leave a Reply

