Lazy Sunday.

This past Sunday, Darlington and I let our hair down and enjoyed a day of decadence.  No, we didn’t go on a whirlwind shopping spree or spend hours at the spa getting buffed, polished and bronzed — we stayed home, ate pasta, baked brownies and watched the first two discs of Gossip Girl, season one.  All in all, it was a fun day.

The two of us had spent a good portion of last week debating as to what we wanted to cook for lunch; I had suggested a pizza, but Darlington then brought up stuffed shells.  I had never eaten a stuffed shell, let alone made one, so it seemed like a great idea: educational and literally smothered with cheese!  It was even more exciting when I learned that the recipe was actually low-calorie too, considering what goes into the dish.  Two shells came out to about 180 calories each, and also contained eleven grams of protein and twenty-five grams of carbohydrates.  Not bad, right?  And the results were pretty damn tasty.

Since Darlington and I can both get admittedly fiend-y about sweets, we knew that we would be interrupting our mini-marathon for some dessert.  When Darlington proposed brownies, I knew that regular chocolate wouldn’t be enough.  For years now, my friend Ben and I have been dreamily discussing how delicious a Nutella-based brownie would be, so I quickly searched my files for the recipe I had been dying to try out.

I’ve got to say, the product we turned out was merely okay — it just wasn’t, well, Nutella-y enough.  (This may or may not be because I am a recovering Nutella addict, and not amount has satisfied me.)  The other night, determined to get it right, I baked another batch with an amplified amount of the hazelnut-chocolate spread and was significantly happier with the result.  For anyone not as preoccupied with Nutella as me, don’t think that Sunday’s brownies were bad.  They were incredibly moist with a nice texture; chewing it was entirely optional, as it all but melted in the mouth, making it a perfect complement to smarmy Chuck Bass and sour Blair Waldorf (two of my favorite characters, I might add, since Kristen Bell‘s voiceover narration as the eponymous and anonymous Gossip Girl doesn’t really count).

xoxo…

Mrs. Howland’s Tofu Stuffed Shells
Makes six portions.

1 package large shells
8 ounces skim ricotta cheese
4 ounces skim mozzarella cheese
1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
16 ounces tofu, pressed and drained
½ egg substitute or 2 eggs
¼ cup parsley, chopped
¼ cup breadcrumbs
32 ounces spaghetti sauce, or 2 16 ounce jars (though I would probably make my own, and use much less)
Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Preheat oven to 375˚ and bring four quarts salted water to a boil.  Add shells, taking care to add gradually so that water does not stop boiling.  Boil uncovered five to ten minutes, stirring occasionally.  Drain and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, mix cheeses, tofu, parsley, breadcrumbs and egg.  Add salt and pepper. Pour half of spaghetti sauce into a large shallow oven-proof baking dish; then, taking one shell at a time, stuff with approximately one tablespoon of tofu and cheese mixture.  Arrange stuffed shells in baking dish, seam up.  Spoon second half of sauce over the top of shells and sprinkle with additional cheese.  Cover and bake for thirty minutes.

Nutella Brownies, from Gourmet
Makes 16 brownies.

1 ¼ cups hazelnuts
4 ounces bittersweet chocolate (not unsweetened)
3 ounces milk chocolate
1 stick unsalted butter
1/3  generous cup Nutella, plus two tablespoons (this is my amped-up amount; the original recipe calls for ¼ cup)
½ cup all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon baking powder
½  cup sugar
2 large eggs

  1. Preheat oven to 350° and butter and flour a nine-inch square baking pan, knocking out excess flour.
  2. Toast and skin hazelnuts. In a food processor pulse hazelnuts until coarsely ground (bits should be about 1/8 inch).
  3. Chop chocolates into small pieces and in a double boiler or a metal bowl set over a saucepan of barely simmering water melt chocolates with butter and Nutella, stirring occasionally until smooth. Remove top of double boiler or bowl from heat.
  4. While chocolates are melting, into a bowl sift together flour, baking powder, and a pinch salt. (I used coarse sea salt for an extra salty kick.) Whisk sugar into chocolate mixture until combined well. Add eggs, whisking until mixture is glossy and smooth. Stir in flour mixture and hazelnuts until just combined.
  5. Pour batter into baking pan and bake in middle of oven thirty-five to forty minutes, or until a tester comes out with moist crumbs adhering to it. Cool brownies completely in pan on a rack and cut into sixteen squares. Brownies keep, layered between sheets of wax paper in an airtight container at cool room temperature, five days.
6 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday.

  1. Confession: I was kind of unaware that the brownie you sent me was actually a nutella brownie. As mentioned in the e-mail I sent you, it was one of the best brownies I’ve had, but I wasn’t tuned into the whole hazelnut thing. [Oh but that pinch of salt… that was awesome. Sweet + hint of salt = best desserts ever.] Good thing I have another left. I’ma refine my palate, go for round two, and report back.

  2. What I actually sent you was part of round two, which I made at home a few nights later. Darlington and I omitted the hazelnuts (my fault), and your batch was the hazelnuttiest.

    But hello, I labeled the bag! It clearly said, “Nutella brownies for Benny and Tim.” Where oh where is your attention to detail?

  3. Oh shit. My bus’.
    Well, let me tell you, round two confirmed it: those were, I’ma say, in the top two or three BEST BROWNIE EVER category. No lie. I don’t lie about dessert.

Leave a Reply

