CSA 2008, Week Fifteen.

I refuse to accept the fact that fall is around the corner, in spite of the fact that it happens to be my favorite season.  I simply can’t acknowledge it, even though I sat shivering in my bathrobe this morning.  Here’s why: it’s week fifteen of my CSA, and the produce box shows no sign of getting any smaller.  This is what was in the box this time around:

  • Broccoli
  • Carrots
  • Dill
  • Eggplant
  • Garlic
  • Hakurei turnips
  • Hot peppers
  • Kale
  • Lettuce
  • Peppers
  • Potatoes
  • Scallions
  • Tomato
  • Tot soi

It pains me to admit it, but tonight I’m going to mash up those potatoes with the scallions — I know I’ll need something warm in my stomach to deal with the fact that I’m not only wearing a sweater, but also thinking of wrapping myself up in a blanket.  Was it really just a handful of days ago that I sat sweating in a friend’s apartment, wishing it was a few degrees cooler?  Well, as they say, I should be careful what I wish for…

That said, the temperature didn’t stop me from making this summery salad.  It really doesn’t get much easier than this.  What’s even more astonishing than the following simple recipe is the high impact of the flavors.  Sharp onion, zippy Dijon, bright tomato, green broccoli and nutty chickpea — fantastic.

Broccoli, Chickpea and Tomato Salad, from Everyday Food
Makes six portions

1 pound broccoli
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons red-wine vinegar
2 tablespoons olive oil
½ small red onion, minced
Coarse salt and ground pepper for seasoning
1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
1 15 ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

  1. Cut florets from broccoli (reserve stalks for another use). Steam until crisp-tender.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk mustard with vinegar, olive oil, and onion; season with salt and pepper.
  3. Add tomatoes, chickpeas, and broccoli; toss to coat. Serve chilled or at room temperature.
Leave a Reply

