CSA 2008, Week Fourteen.

Normally, the folks at The Food Project send out an email each week indicating exactly what we should expect to see in our CSA boxes; this time around, for whatever reason, I didn’t get any such email.  Oh well.  I’m confident I can identify everything in there, though I doubt I’ll be able to give any real specifics, i.e. exactly what kind of tomato.  So this week we had the following:

  • Broccoli
  • Carrots
  • Fennel
  • Green peppers
  • Hot peppers
  • Lettuce
  • Rainbow chard
  • Tomatoes

When I saw that broccoli, the first thing that came to mind was a broccoli quiche.  Now I know that doesn’t sound too creative, but can I just say something?  I happen to love quiche.  It’s terrible, considering that it’s basically a boatload of eggs and a ton of cheese all thrown together and baked, but I’m sorry — I can’t help it.  If heaven’s a real place, they’ll be serving quiche.  Let’s just leave it at that.

I didn’t really bother with a recipe for the quiche-making; my mother would be so proud, what with her aversion to following recipes.  I’ve been making a savory chard pie throughout the summer with great success, so I figured I could twist that recipe around to incorporate my broccoli.  I also knew I wanted to use bacon because, honestly, doesn’t bacon simply make everything that much better?  With those established as my two required ingredients, I got going.

My chard pie recipe calls for six eggs, but I wanted to see if my quiche and I could get away with less.  I started with four, and I think that amount worked out well; the quiche rose a bit during its time in the oven, so even though it looked a little sad and flat when I slid it in, it emerged looking quite robust.  And smelling delicious.  The only thing I think I’ll do differently the next time around is perhaps cook my broccoli, garlic and onions a bit earlier so that they’ll have some time release all of their excess water, as well as cool, before it gets combined with to the cheese-and-egg mixture.  Otherwise, the quiche can appear watery and give the impression that the eggs haven’t yet finished cooking, which is not the case at all.

Broccoli and Bacon Quiche
Makes eight portions.

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, chopped finely
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 – 2 ½ cups chopped broccoli, florets and stalks (I like a lot of broccoli, not to mention i had a lot of broccoli.  I still have half left.)
8 strips bacon
2 cups shredded cheese (I used a combination of cheddar and mozzarella)
4 eggs
1 ½ cups milk
1 tablespoon butter, melted
salt and pepper
½ recipe Basic Pie Dough, or 1 pre-made pie shell, rolled out into a 9-inch pie plate

  1. Heat oven to 400˚.  Place a rack inside a baking sheet (I used the racks from my toaster oven).  Lay out bacon slices and bake for twelve to fifteen minutes.  Reduce heat to 350˚.
  2. Heat oil over medium flame; when the oil is ready, sauté onion and garlic until golden brown.  Add broccoli; cover, until broccoli softens.
  3. Beat eggs in a large bowl with milk.  Season with salt and pepper; add cheese and mix thoroughly.
  4. Chop or crumble bacon, then stir into broccoli, onion and garlic mixture.  When thoroughly combined, strain excess water and pour into pie shell.  Cover with egg and cheese mixture.  Bake oven for thirty to forty minutes, or until center has set.

Leave a Reply

