CSA 2008, Week Twelve.

Keith and I have very specific duties when it comes to our CSA box:  he fetches it, and I figure out what to do with the contents therein.  (We split the eating of it and the salad-spinning of greens and herbs fairly evenly.)  Recently, Keith told me that he likes being the box retriever of our household.

“I’m always one of the first ones to pick up,” he said, “so I can choose the best of the melons.”

May I just say very quickly that I’m fully aware of my biase here, and that I know that this sentence can easily be misconstrued, but regardless — this man knows his melons.  (Keep your minds on fruit, please.)  Apparently, The Food Project piles a mound o’ melons at our pick-up spot in Cambridge, leaving box takers like Keith to select which one they’d like to take home… and let me tell you, the cantaloupe Keith brought home this week was probably amongst the best I’ve eaten.  It was so succulent and sweet that it was almost impossible to believe it had been made by nature.  Honestly, it tasted like cantaloupe candy.  Fantastic stuff.

Though I love them, I can’t help but think cantaloupes are funny fruit.  I love the texture of their rough skins (see extreme close-up here, courtesy of Wikipedia), which for some reason bring to mind the terrain of an alien planet — not that I’ve ever seen the terrain of an alien planet.  Interesting factoid: cantaloupes may originally be from Armenia.

The rest of the box contained the following:

  • Basil
  • Beets
  • Cabbage
  • Cantaloupe
  • Carrots
  • Corn
  • Fennel
  • Garlic
  • Hot Peppers
  • Mizuna
  • Tomatoes
  • Watermelon

You should know that the watermelon Keith chose was also amazing.  He’s got a skill, people.

Leave a Reply

