Lunch at Eastern Standard.

I think this is funny, and maybe (hopefully?) you’ll agree: I keep on going to Eastern Standard in the company of French men. First it was Guillaume, and now it is Kelly. Don’t ask me how or why it turned out to be this way, because I’ve no answers for you. It just is what it is.

The past few times I’d been to the Kenmore Square brasserie, I had eyed the frisée aux lardons ($11.00) but ultimately had chosen another option instead.  This time, I decided ahead of time that I would be ordering the salad with hazelnuts and sweetbreads — nothing was going to stop me.

In retrospect, I kind of wish that something or someone had… because I sort of choked on the first bite.  It was so overladen with vinegary dressing, which then simultaneously shot straight up my nose and directly dripped down my throat.  Keith, Kelly and Jonah all looked at me with alarmed expressions on their faces as I tried to get my breath back.  After that, I had a hard time enjoying the salad… especially when I did the same exact thing a few forkfuls later.

Aside from the vinegary dressing, most of which I avoided the best I could, the salad itself was all right; for some reason I had expected more of the sweetbreads and less of the bacon fat, which I thought was a bit too chewy.  I will say that the egg was quite nice though, and that I wished I had another one to pierce with the tines of my fork.  What really got me, however, was the presentation — I don’t mind stacks of food or cylindrical tubes of food, but it seemed so very out of place with a salad.

In the end, I suppose I could say I was a little disappointed but, in all honesty, I wasn’t really thinking about it.  After all, the only way to find out if you like something is to try, and just because you feel affection for a certain ingredient doesn’t mean you’ll love it in everything.  And besides, my dining companions were delicious enough to make up for it.  (Aw.)

Eastern Standard
528 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, Massachusetts 02215
617.532.9100
easternstandardboston.com

Eastern Standard on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

