CSA 2008, Week Eight.

I can’t believe Keith and I are already on week eight of our CSA with The Food Project. It feels like it was only last week that we had such a teensy tiny box of greens, turnips and parsnip; now each week seems to bring us a veritable bounty of vegetables that I honestly feel like I’m stealing. This week, for example, our box runneth over with the following:

  • Basil
  • Chard
  • Carrots
  • Cucumbers
  • Garlic
  • Green beans
  • Lettuce
  • Peppers
  • Scallions
  • Summer squash
  • Tomatoes

I’ve only the vaguest idea as to what I’m going to do with all of this fine produce, but I can tell you that I have already decided the fate of those peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes and scallions. The first three I know I’ll eat raw — probably while lying prostrate on the sofa, watching Project Runway, with three fans pointing directly at me. The scallions I’ll bake into scones. I’ve been on a scone kick this year, but I think it’s high time I try my hand at some savories rather than sweets. Not to mention Keith happens to love scallions and baked goods…

Susan’s Savory Cheese & Scallion Scones, adapted from Farmgirl Fare
Makes eight large scones

2½ cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt (you may omit this if your feta is particularly salty)
4 ounces feta cheese, crumbled
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
6 scallions, green and white parts, chopped
¾ cup half-and-half or milk
2 eggs
1 tablespoon milk

  1. Heat oven to 400˚. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Add cheeses and gently mix until combined (I used my hands). Add scallions and gently mix until combined.
  2. In another bowl, beat ¾ cup half-and-half with one egg; fold into dry ingredients. Mix until soft dough forms; add up to ½ cup additional flour if dough is too sticky.
  3. On a floured surface, pat dough into a circle approximately one-inch thick. With a sharp knife coated in flour, cut circle into eight wedges; place wedges on greased or parchment-lined baking sheet.
  4. Beat together remaining egg and tablespoon of milk. Brush tops and sides of scones with egg glaze, then bake for twenty to twenty-five minutes, or until golden brown. Cool on a wire rack and refrigerate in an airtight container.

2 thoughts on “CSA 2008, Week Eight.

Leave a Reply

