CSA 2008, Week Six.

This week, I got my regular email from my CSA describing what I should expect in my box. Aside from including the list of vegetables Keith and I would be eating this week, the assistant farm manager at the Food Project included a little note indicating that, in the upcoming weeks, the amount of produce we would be receiving would start to increase drastically. While I really appreciated the heads up — apparently we will need to start bringing a tote bag of some sorts to accommodate the additional food — I think it’s pretty clear already that the amount of vegetables we’ve been getting has ramped up. I mean, I remember when our box was so small. It’s gotten to the point where I think this might be the last time I’ll be able to photograph my goods as a group. This week week we received the following:

  • Basil
  • Carrots
  • Kohlrabi
  • Salad greens (not pictured)
  • Scallions
  • Swiss chard
  • Turnips
  • Zucchini

I was most looking forward to the zucchini, because I was craving the below quesadilla dish. I’m not much of a quesadilla-eater (or quesadilla-cooker), but this is great, particularly if you’ve lucked out and gotten your hands on some sweet corn. The recipe calls for baking the quesadillas in the oven; generally I like to make them in a pan over a fire, but it takes much longer.

(A confession: I don’t remember where I first got this recipe, which I’ve had in my files for few years now.)

Zucchini Quesadillas

4 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, coarsely chopped
Salt
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 pound zucchini, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced crosswise
1 cup corn kernels ¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro
4 (8-inch) flour tortillas
2 cups grated cheese (I used a combination of cheddar and other cheeses)

  1. Preheat oven to 400°. In a large skillet, heat three tablespoons oil over medium heat. Add onion and salt; cook, stirring occasionally, until the onion is soft, about five minutes. Stir in garlic and cook for one minute more.
  2. Add zucchini and corn kernels; cook, stirring occasionally, until zucchini is soft and corn is tender, about six minutes. Remove from heat; stir in cilantro.
  3. Brush one side of all tortillas with remaining tablespoon oil; lay two tortillas, oiled side down, on a baking sheet. Place half of the filling on each, and sprinkle with half the cheese. Place remaining 2 tortillas on top, oiled side up; press down gently with a spatula to seal.
  4. Bake until cheese has melted and tortillas are golden brown, turning once, about 10 minutes. Remove from oven; let cool slightly. To serve, slice each quesadilla into wedges.

Leave a Reply

