CSA 2008, Week Two: Part Two.

I’m pleased to report that I’ve conquered the radish.

Even though I had received several suggestions on how to best serve a radish, I knew that there just was no way I was going to be eating them raw. The very notion plain freaked me out — which is really saying something because there’s not much about food that normally elicits that sort of reaction from me. For some reason, though, the radish was getting under my skin.

I knew the easiest possible thing to do that would still allow the radish to shine was a simple sauté. My radishes were several sizes and the difference in girth was considerable; after I had browned some minced garlic in butter, I sliced my radishes as thinly as I could and threw them into the pan along with salt and pepper. When the garlic and radishes began to stick to the sides of the pan, I mixed in a few tablespoons of water, covered the pan and lowered the heat. Since the radishes are so thin, they cook very quickly; once they are translucent, the dish is done. In the end, the radishes developed a zingy sort of vague bitterness that was actually very appealing.

I’ve got to say, this is only week two of my CSA and I’m really loving it. I know that I probably never would have purchased radishes at the store, let alone eaten them; being essentially forced to devise a way to consume certain vegetables has been more fun than I could have ever anticipated.

Sautéed Radishes
Makes two portions

1 bunch radishes, thinly-sliced by hand or with a mandoline (I’m a hand-slicer, only because I don’t have a mandoline)
4 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon butter
salt and pepper

Melt butter in a over medium heat; adjust flame to medium-low. Add and sauté garlic until nice and golden, about ten minutes. Once garlic is uniform in color, add radish slices; season with salt and pepper. Add a few tablespoons cold water; stir and cover. Cook covered until radish slices are translucent, about fifteen minutes.

3 thoughts on “CSA 2008, Week Two: Part Two.

  1. Hi, there. I’ve also had radish-phobia, and in some ways, I still do. I wasn’t going to be eating them raw either. So, essentially, to take out some of the bitterness, I candied them… kind of. I sliced them thin, tossed them in some vegetable oil, brown sugar, salt and white pepper and roasted them like beets for 10 minutes. They didn’t come out half bad, really. I thought they might go well in a salad with some corn.

    But yes, you’re right, a saute sounds like a great idea! Maybe with some red onion?

  2. Cynthia, it’s so good to know that I’m not alone in my radish fear. Your approach sounds really interesting — I’m going to have to give it a shot, and you let me know how the red onion works?

Leave a Reply

