Last Night’s Dinner.

Keith and I went away this weekend to Maine, and spent the majority of our time there at Portland and Ogunquit’s restaurants. Eating seven rich and delicious meals in a row isn’t nearly as glamorous as it sounds, so when we got back we decided to make a concerted effort to have lighter, healthier dinners at home. Last night I made a simple and tasty salad that I now regret not photographing. The recipe is from Bon Appétit, and is terrific. The shallots add a nice bite, the avocado a lovely decadence and the orange a burst of sweet brightness. I plan to make this again tonight to bring in for lunch tomorrow, that’s how much I liked it.

Spinach Salad with Orange and Avocado, from Bon Appétit
Makes four portions as a side, or two entrée-sized servings.

2 tablespoons finely chopped shallots
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
2 teaspoons fresh ginger, minced and peeled
½ teaspoon sesame oil
1 navel orange
1 6-ounce bag baby spinach leaves
2 avocados, cut into ½-inch wedges

  1. Whisk first five ingredients in large bowl. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Set dressing aside.
  2. Cut off peel and pith from orange. Cut orange into 1/3-inch rounds; cut rounds crosswise in half. Divide spinach amongst plates and add dressing; toss to coat. Add avocado and orange and toss gently.

2 thoughts on “Last Night’s Dinner.

  1. Yum! I will be making this soon. It’s perfect even at this time of year, especially when one lives in AZ. Thanks again. I will be telling my friends about your blog. I’m so glad I found it.

  2. I’ve made this salad for many a doubting audience, only to convert each diner to this fantastic dish. it’s become one of my go-to meals, though I wish I could say I lived in a region that could claim the ingredients as local. So until then, it’s just going to be a healthy guilty pleasure…

    Thanks for all of your fantastic comments and compliments. I appreciate them all so much!

Leave a Reply

