Food Diary, Day Five.

7.39 am: Tylenol and a small glass of orange juice, which I don’t even finish. My throat is killing me. I think it must be coated in shards of glass, like the tops of the brick walls surrounding my grandparents’ neighborhood in Manila.

9.11 – 9.39 am: Small bowl of spaghetti with sun-dried tomatoes, mozzarella, basil and oregano. The pasta feels so good sliding down my throat.

2.23 – 2.45 pm: Bowl of Red Berries with a lot less milk than usual, so the berries can scratch scratch scratch my throat.

3.27 pm: Mug of warm milk, with honey.

4.03 pm: What might possibly be the world’s most perfect grapefruit. Tart and sweet and juicy, it’s just the thing on a sunny day like this.

7.50 pm: I’ve spent the day home sick, and though I offered to cook dinner, Keith quickly exercised his veto power and said that we should just order a pizza. While I appreciate it, I’m not an invalid — when I get sick I either get irritated, and then become productive, or I get tired, and sleep. Today was a melding of the two: irritated (two loads laundry, plus baking cookies) and (spending the late morning and early afternoon asleep, and most likely drooling, on the sofa).

9.30 – 9.49 pm: Two slices of cheese pizza, three breadsticks and two Tylenols.

2 thoughts on “Food Diary, Day Five.

  1. Thanks, and right back at ya… Being sick is a miserable business, but I take comfort in knowing that I’m not the only one!

Leave a Reply

