If Danny Meyer Can Do It…

As you may have already surmised, I obsess about food. It is constantly on my mind, whether in terms of what’s for dinner, what’s in season, what I’m craving, or where I want to eat.

Until recently, I used the website Calorie Count to keep track of what I had eaten over the course of the day and what I could healthily indulge in — though I confess that everything kind of went off the rails recently. Well, it’s high time I get back on that horse, I think, and I hope you don’t mind if I use this site as a means of semi-publicly humiliating myself.

My friend Beth once told me that it takes three weeks to form a habit; whether or not this is true is an entirely different story altogether. All I know is that New York Magazine has been a very unlikely source of weight-watching inspiration for me. Last spring, the publication printed what they called “The Fashion Week Food Diaries,” in which a pair of models, a show producer and an Elle editor chronologically listed their consumption for a day; this week, the magazine featured a piece with Danny Meyer which follows a week in his dietary life.

So, here’s to you, New York. I’ll record everything I eat over the course of a week and write it up for all of you to see. Starting tomorrow. Because today was just plain shameful.

Leave a Reply

