My New Obsession.

img_2177-2.jpg This year we decided to celebrate New Year’s Eve in a very low-key and sort of impromptu fashion. At what could only be described as the very last minute, we gathered a small group of friends in our living room for some snacks and drinks. We spent the evening chatting, eating, drinking and laughing, only turning on the television at exactly 11.58. After the ball dropped, we promptly turned the television off and focused our attention again on each other. In my opinion, it was pretty much the perfect way to ring in 2008.

Something else that made this New Year’s extra memorable for me was the fact that it was my introduction to Lambic. I’m not much of a beer drinker; I mostly drink Belgian-style beers like Allagash. I suppose it made sense that I fell madly in love with the peach Lambic that Darlington brought over on a whim.

Lambic comes in a variety of fruit flavors, but thus far I’ve only tried the peach and the raspberry (framboise). I’ve got a particular interest in the black currant, as my love of the Kir Royale (Crème de Cassis and Champagne) is boundless. The apple is also appealing, but at the moment I am still so enamored with the golden brightness of the peach that even the fizzy raspberry couldn’t sway my affection. That said, I noticed last month that Picco‘s dessert menu includes one especially intriguing item: an “adult” ice cream soda. It is described as “your choice of Belgian Lambic poured over vanilla ice cream,” and certainly sounds as though for it alone is a visit necessary.

2 thoughts on “My New Obsession.

  1. I came across your site by surfing and I’m glad I did. I’m quite enjoying your musings about food and life. Very nice.
    I wanted to comment on this specific topic because years ago I was in Nice and discovered “Mort Subite” (spelling is probably wrong….it means subtle death in french). Anyway, the point is it is AMAZING and it promptly became the only liquid I drank at night for a long while.
    It’s difficult to find in the US but keep your eyes peeled. It comes in apple and black raspberry. oh to be in Nice sipping that again!

  2. Thanks, Megan, for both the compliment and the beverage suggestion! If in my wanderings I come across this amazing-sounding drink, I’ll be sure to let you know…

Leave a Reply

