A Sort Of Travely Mix CD.

Another thematic mix CD…

I mailed this one to Darlington, who moved to London this past February.  I thought my choices seemed fitting — the songs’ connecting thread was commonplace locations like a car or a certain room in an undisclosed house, and my friend was in the middle of new places that would soon become familiar and everyday.  I also sent along a mix relating to specific places; I’ll write about that one in a little bit.

As always, let me know if you want a copy.

Places, General

  1. “The Village Green Preservation Society” by The Kinks
  2. Eau d’ Bedroom Dancing” by Le Tigre
  3. Monkey Gone to Heaven” by The Pixies
  4. East of the Sun (West of the Moon)” by Billie Holiday
  5. Top of the World” by The Carpenters
  6. Car” by Built to Spill
  7. Sukie in the Graveyard” by Belle + Sebastian
  8. Strolling Down the Highway” by Nick Drake
  9. “Black Mountain” by Isobel Campbell + Mark Lanegan
  10. Get Out of the City” by Ivy
  11. Island in the Sun” by Weezer
  12. My Side of the City” by Beulah
  13. Neighborhood #2 (Laika)” by Arcade Fire
  14. Heaven” by Bettie Serveert
  15. Brick House” by The Commodores
  16. “Daddy’s Car” by The Cardigans
  17. Once Around the Block” by Badly Drawn Boy
  18. Lost in the Supermarket” by The Clash
  19. This House is Not For Sale” by Ryan Adams
  20. In the Garage” by Weezer
  21. 3rd Planet” by Modest Mouse
  22. Rock the House” by Gorillaz
  23. The Village” by New Order