Breakfast at Bread and Ink Café.

I’m big into breakfast, so imagine how pleased I was to discover that Portland is a breakfast-loving town. Not only that, but Keith’s friend Arjon provided us with a list of favorite options close to our hotel. We made Bread and Ink Café on Hawthorne our trip’s first breakfast stop mostly because the name lists two of my favorite things. It just sounded too good to pass up.

(Also sounding too good to pass up, even though Keith and I did because of poor planning, is Bread and Ink’s Waffle Window. It is exactly what it sounds like, and I know it will be my first stop the next time I’m in town.)

For what may possibly be the first time in years, I had no problem narrowing down the menu offerings and selecting my meal; as soon as I read the description for the red pepper frittata ($9.50) I knew I had to have it. In all seriousness, is it even possible to go wrong with roasted red peppers, chèvre and finely-minced thyme and chives? If that’s not enough, imagine as an accompaniment a veritable pile of crisp-on-the-outside, creamy-on-the-inside herb-roasted potatoes…

My only complaint with Bread and Ink’s frittata is that — well, it’s not quite a fritatta. Technically, a frittata is a thick egg cake of sorts, loaded with sliced vegetables, cheese and sometimes meats. It is started in a cast-iron skillet and finished under the broiler, then typically portioned into little wedges, and eaten either hot or cold. (I love a frittata cold, the day after it was first made, sometimes eaten right over the kitchen sink. So good.) Bread and Ink’s version was most certainly not a frittata. Instead it is more akin to an open-faced omelet. It’s a delicious, creamy and lovely open-faced omelet, but an omelet nonetheless.

Don’t let silly little things like semantics get in the way of enjoying a dish and a cuppa, though. Potato, potahto; fritatta, fritomelet. Really, all that matters is that it tasted damn good.

Bread and Ink Café
3610 SE Hawthorne Boulevard
Portland, Oregon 97214
503.239.4756
breadandinkcafe.com

Bread and Ink Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

